Dr Su-Ming Khoo and Dr Lorraine Morgan win President’s Award for Research Excellence


Congratulations to Whitaker Institute members Dr Su-Ming Khoo, cluster leader of Environment, Development and Sustainability, and Dr Lorraine Morgan, cluster leader of Agile and Open Innovation, who both won at the 2019 Research & Innovation Symposium and President’s Award for Research Excellence.

Dr Su-Ming Khoo was one of the recipients of the Research Supervisor Award. Dr Khoo’s research and course material engages with development theory and political economy of development, with an emphasis on alternative approaches including human development, human rights and sustainable development. She has significant experience in supervising research students to successful completion, with three ongoing and three completed primary supervisees along with six completed and four ongoing co-supervisees.

Su-Ming is currently researching academic quality in Irish and South African universities, and has completed a special study module on supervision for her MA in Academic Practice (2018). She has helped developed research training in Finland, South Africa and Australia.


 Dr Lorraine Morgan was one of the recipients of the Early Stage Research Award. Dr Morgan is one of the leading academics globally in open innovation, having published in top journals and conference proceedings and serving in several major editorial roles for leading journals. Her principle research areas include Open Source Software, Inner Source, Open Business Models, Value Networks and Crowdsourcing.

Lorraine has been a funded investigator with Lero since 2015 on several SFI funded projects involving companies such as Ericsson and Fidelity Investments. Lorraine is also founding member and President of the Association for Information Systems Special Interest Group on Open Research and Practice (SIGOPEN), the largest founding AIS group.




Top row (L to R): Prof Paul Murphy, Prof John Canavan, Dr John McCrae, Prof Martin O’Halloran
Bottom row (L to R): Prof Lokesh Joshi (Vice-President for Research), Dr Su-Ming Khoo, President Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, Prof Dympna Casey, Dr Lorraine Morgan