SOCIOEC is a collaborative project, which has received funding from the European Union under the Seventh Framework Programme of Cooperation (FP7; Food, Agriculture and Fisheries). The project consortium is made up of partners from 12 countries and is coordinated by the Johann Heinrich Von Thünen Institute based in Germany. The consortium comprises both stakeholders representative of the fishing sector and experts from three key academic disciplines of fisheries sciences (ecology, economics and social sciences).

SOCIOEC runs for 36 months and aims to perform a comprehensive analysis of the wide range of current and emerging management measures in the current Common Fisheries Policy (CFP). It will develop possible new future measures to be introduced in order to achieve a more profitable and efficient fishing sector that provides sustainable employment, support society’s aims, and contributes to societal well being.

SOCIOEC specifically targets the failures of the CFP and works with the people involved in fisheries to prevent future failures.

Funded by

EU Flag SM

This research project has received funding from the European Union’s Seventh Framework Programme (FP7 / 2007-2013) under grant agreement no. 289192.

Project Partners

The SOCIOEC consortium consists of a wide range of research institutes that are geographically well-distributed Europe.

  1. Johann Heinrich von Thünen Institute – Institute of Sea Fisheries (vTI-SF)
  2. Aalborg University – Innovative Fisheries Management (AAU-IFM)
  3. University of Copenhagen (UCPH) – Institute of Food and Resource Economics
  4. Wageningen UR – LEI
  5. National Institute of Aquatic Resources – Technical University of Denmark (DTU Aqua)
  6. Hellenic Centre for Marine Research (HCMR)
  7. AquaTT
  8. Institut Français de Recherche pour l’Exploitation de la Mer (IFREMER)
  9. Instituto Ricerche Economiche per la Pesca e l’Acquacoltura (IREPA Onlus)
  10. University of Iceland – Institute of Economic Studies (IoES)
  11. Karadeniz Technical University – Faculty of Marine Sciences (KTU-FMS)
  12. University of Portsmouth – Centre for the Economics and Management of Aquatic Resources (CEMARE)
  13. The National University of Ireland, Galway (NUI Galway)
  14. Université de Bretagne Occidentale (UBO) / UMR Amure
  15. Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU)
  16. The Marine Institute, Ireland (MI)
  17. AZTI-Tecnalia
  18. The EU’s Joint Research Centre (JRC)
  19. Pêcheurs de Manche et Atlantique (PMA)
  20. Kutterfisch-Zentrale (KF)
  21. Læsø Fiskeindustri (LF)
  22. Marine Law and Ocean Policy Research Services
  23. Dennis Nissen
  24. Clodiamare1 (CsC)
  25. Mediterranean Aquafarm Services (MAS)