Whitaker Members Receive President’s Research Excellence Awards

The Whitaker Institute is delighted that four of its members received President’s Research Excellence Awards at the annual Research and Innovation Symposium on 4 September.

Dr Kieran Conboy, Lead of the Agile and Open Innovation (LERO) research cluster, received a Research Supervisor award. An Established Researcher award was presented each to Dr Frances Fahy—Lead of the Environment, Development and Sustainability research cluster and member of the Creative, Liveable and Sustainable, Socio-economic Marine Research Unit, and Social Sciences Research Centre research clusters—and Prof Brian McGuire of the Health and Well-being research cluster. Dr John Cullinan of the Population and Migration research cluster also received an Early Stage Researcher award.

Announcing the awards, which are now in their fourth year, NUI Galway President Dr Jim Browne said, “These awards are made to members of our research community in recognition of their outstanding and innovative research. Today’s event is an important event in the University’s calendar. It is about recognising and rewarding the very significant research contributions made by our staff and the importance of this in enhancing the reputation of our University internationally. Research affects daily life in many ways and ultimately the goal of most research is to understand and enhance the world around us.”

At the event, Professor Lokesh Joshi, Vice-President of Research at NUI Galway, spoke about the focus of the University’s research. “The purpose of our research is to benefit humanity, society and the economy. In pursuit of this, our talented and ambitious research community collaborate with other universities, companies and non-governmental organisations around the world. This capacity to collaborate means that our research reputation takes us from the west of Ireland, to the heart of Europe and into the top 1% of universities in the world.”

More information is available here.